More Fast and Slow

It has been a few weeks since I posted, and I’ve done a lot of knitting and cooking. I’ll do a food post today, and share a bit of knitting later this week. I need to get into a better habit of posting! Here are a few more recipes I’ve tested out from Skinnytaste Fast and Slow. I have been making new recipes from it every week.

20161109_191501

Kale Caesar and Grilled Chicken Bowl – we had this for dinner last week, and it was both fast and so tasty! The Caesar dressing is homemade which really lightens it up while still tasting great. The only thing I wish I did different was I should have massaged the kale to soften it up a bit. I’m trying to have more salads for dinner, rather than just lunch. Salads are so fast and healthy, especially any of the Skinnytaste salads.

20161103_195333

Slow Cooker Korean-Style Beef Tacos – another winner, of course. I couldn’t find flank steak so I used a different cut (which I can’t remember now… sirloin tip maybe?) but it still was super tender and fell apart in the slow cooker. The cucumber and carrot slaw was a great addition as well. I think I mentioned this before but there is an entire taco chapter in Fast and Slow, and I’m going to try all of them!

20161106_081655

Roasted Red Pepper and Orzo Soup – this was one of the “fast” recipes. I doubled it and had it for lunch at work with a hard boiled egg on the side. I loved this one! It’s extremely flavourful and comes together so quickly. Orzo is a nice change from regular pasta and it doesn’t absorb all the liquid like some larger varieties do.

FB_IMG_1478103028083.jpg

Lastly, Slow Cooker Indian Chicken with Peas. I love Indian recipes, and this was excellent – lots of flavour but not too spicy. I had it over brown rice and it was a great combination. I have said it before, but I love my slow cookers. Kitchen gadgets are my weakness… I think what I need next is an Instant Pot – it’s a pressure cooker but also has a slow cooker function.

I’ll post some more recipes later this week, including some great ones from Inspiralized!

One thought on “More Fast and Slow

Leave a Reply

