Fast and Slow

I am officially obsessed with the new Skinnytaste cookbook I mentioned last week. It is absolutely amazing! I am testing out recipes all week. So far I’ve made three of the slow cooker recipes. I LOVE my slow cooker(s… I actually have three). They are easily my favourite kitchen gadget. My husband and I both work an hour from home in opposite directions, so we spend a lot of time driving. It’s awesome to come home to dinner ready, or at least partially ready.

The first recipe I made was “Stuffed Pepper Soup,” which is actually also on the Skinnytaste website as well as in the new book. I’ve been wanting to make this one for a long time.

14795712_10157613288040261_256426710_o.jpg

This soup is awesome! It actually tastes better than a stuffed pepper, in my opinion. It’s more tomato-y and so full of flavour. I loved it.

For dinner tonight, we had “Slow Cooker Hawaiian Pork Tacos with Charred Pineapple Salsa.”

14787681_10157613287925261_1273806802_o

14787616_10157613287975261_1108197388_o

They were absolutely delicious, beyond words! The smokey pork flavour with the sweet salsa and vinegary cabbage was so fantastic. We’re having leftovers on Wednesday and I am already looking forward to it.

I made “Slow Cooker ‘Baked’ Oatmeal with Coconut, Blueberries, and Bananas” for breakfast this week as well, but I forgot to take a photo before I divided it into bowls. It was also excellent! I just can’t get over this book! I would recommend it to anyone. When you first start cooking from scratch, it can feel like you are endlessly buying ingredients. After a little while you’ll build up a collection and will have a lot more on hand.

Leave a Reply

