Long Weekend

Thanksgiving weekend is one of my favourite times of the year. This year was especially perfect: the weather was cool and crisp, we went to Oktoberfest, we had a campfire, and… I got the new Skinnytaste cookbook!! Skinnytaste Fast and Slow is officially released tomorrow, but my mom found it on Saturday and picked up copies for both of us.

20161010_210210.jpg

This book is amazing. All of the recipes are either for the slow cooker or take less than half an hour to make. It’s perfect for anyone trying to cook more at home because it makes it so easy! I had already made my meal plan for the week by the time I got the book, so I won’t be making any of the recipes until next week.

I make lunches for my husband and myself on the weekends so they’re ready to go all week. For my lunch this week, I made Inspiralized Spicy Asian Chicken Turnip Noodle Soup.

20161010_153007.jpg

This soup is one of the best Inspiralized recipes I have ever made! It’s very simple but so full of flavour. I’m so excited that “soup season” is officially here, and I will definitely be making this one again.

I recently discovered The Lemon Bowl (from my mom, who also introduced me to Skinnytaste…are you seeing a trend here? We have very similar interests). I haven’t tried very many recipes yet, but for breakfast this week I made Healthy Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins. They smelled delicious and I can’t wait to try one tomorrow morning!

20161010_205341.jpg

Leave a Reply

